Tips & Tricks: Blogging Niche and How To Find It

feb797908b41734e24c4e50a089464f5

Lately I have been thinking a lot about what it is about my blog that makes people coming back to it. To be honest, and I think a lot of you can relate, blogging is nothing special anymore nowadays. It was back then in 2007, when fashionblogging was still a curiosity and new. But there are so many blogs now, I am (and maybe you are too) just 1 of many fashion bloggers/lifestyle bloggers out there.

The Bigger Picture

Because blogging is not very special anymore, it makes me contemplate all the more about that one thing that makes my blog stand out of the crowd. That’s were a niche comes in. Finding your blog’s niche means you have to find that one special segment within a much bigger picture. I think my niche is sticking to the graffiti backgrounds in every outfitpost. It makes me/my blog recognizable and memorizable. Thereby I didn’t see many bloggers do the same yet with the graffiti backgrounds.

Tips & Tricks

I made you some tips & tricks so you can find your own niche:

  • Ask yourself: What makes me special? If necessary ask your friends or family about it. What do they think your strength is?
  • Do you have knowledge or expertise on a certain field? Use that expertise to surprise your readers with something extra
  • Find a segment within the bigger picture. If you are a lawyer, a business professional or otherwise involved in an office job, then think about what you could do with that. For example: give tips on how to dress fashionably but appropriate for an office, interview inspiring people careerwise, give advice on how to be better at your job or how to get a promotion?
  • Search the internet for something that doesn’t exist yet. Of course you can have a fashionblog, but think about how you can make that blog stand out. Maybe it’s the photography? The backgrounds? Way of writing? The approach?
  • Some things I didn’t see yet: streetstyle in the clubbingscene, fashion for the disabled, mens streetstyle, kids fashion, designer clothing for less (vintage, thriftshopping), beauty tips & tricks for the troubled skin (acne, pimples, pigmentation, et cetera), fashion for little people or taller than average (woman).

I would love to know what you think your niche is? And what do you think of mine? Do you have a tip to add to the list, please feel free to share them with me and the rest of us ๐Ÿ˜‰

Picture courtesy of: inspired-design.tumblr.com

13 thoughts on “Tips & Tricks: Blogging Niche and How To Find It

  1. Ik vind jouw achtergronden elke keer weer zo bijzonder. Het is vooral leuk om te zien hoe hard je groeit en hoe standvastig je blog nu al is. Natuurlijk kan ij niet jouw statistieken zien maar volgens mij gaat het (terecht) goed met je blog. Mijn niche is denk ik dat ik elke maand een nieuwe uitdaging heb m.b.t. gezondheid. Daarnaast is mijn blog een stuk persoonlijker dan de meeste gezondheid รณf receptenblogs. But i’m not sure…

    Like

    • Dankjewel Anouk! Superlief van je ๐Ÿ™‚ Het gaat inderdaad de goede kant op, ik beleef er ook zoveel plezier aan. Dus het is een win-win situatie! Jouw blog heeft inderdaad de persoonlijke touch als grootste verschil. Meestal is het vrij neutraal en oppervlakkig, maar jij betrekt het eerst op jezelf en vertaalt het dan naar de rest toe ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. Great post Wilme! I think what makes you standout is your vibrant personality, vast array of chic and colorful outfits that coincide well with your background, and your insightful writing like this post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Much love, Lena

    Like

    • Wauw what an overload of compliments, thank you (blushes) ๐Ÿ™‚ I never imagined my style to be listed as chic, because I always say I’m more drawn to streetstyle and normcore. But apparently my outfits also tell you something different, haha. Have a nice day! xx โค

      Like

  3. Thank you for all of these helpful posts you’ve written on how to become a better blogger! I have to say your niche was obvious right away with the graffiti backgrounds, as you mentioned, that add such a fun, extra pop to your posts. That and the fact that you care about your fellow bloggers and aren’t afraid to offer some insight! Keep rocking ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was actually thinking of the style in the clubbing scene idea…as I am a DJ, and time behind the decks in a club is one chance I normally wouldn’t have to get super creative with what I’m wearing! Fun fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    xo Lana
    http://www.decadentdissonance.com

    Like

    • Aww I’m so overwhelmed by all the compliments I’m getting, thank you so much ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad my niche speaks for itself. You are a DJ? That’s so awesome! What kind of genre are you in? And who’s your favourite DJ? I would love to see posts about the clubbing scene, such a different vibe ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  4. The whole concept of niche is still delusional to me, so much so, that I have refused to be tied down to one. Now that I’m planning to post on Lookbook from November, may be, just may be, I would be labelled as a fashion blogger. I hope you’d help me figure it out then!

    Like

    • You are what you want yourself to be ๐Ÿ˜‰ And for a lot of bloggers is isn’t clear about what they actually are. But of course I want to help you figure it out, just give me a message/e-mail or so and I’ll be there ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Hey hey! I would be happy to hear what you have to say. Just leave me a text, and I'll text you back!

