DISCUSSION: Hairy Legs, The New Sexy?

tumblr_n8ruyeW5W31qbjypto1_1280

I didn’t see this one coming, the revival of the hairy legs, the unshaved. Not in a million years though I’m going to join this (feministic) movement. Should I call it feministic? Anyways pictures of hairy (revisited) stilts popped up in the media, especially on Tumblr girls are showing off their newfound way of expressing girlpower.

There is even a special page called ‘Hairy Legs Club‘. Most of the girls don’t want to be told anymore to shave their legs. Or feel the obligation to do it because of the public pressure they are experiencing.

A little history lesson in a few sentences learns that the second feministic period took place during the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s. Among female rights the women also expressed their unhappiness by refusing to put on make-up, shave their armpits or legs and to grow their hair long. This movement feels like a third feministic period has begun.

How do you feel about all of this? Would you go unshaved for the rest of your life? In my opinion I’m shaving my legs in the first and foremost place for myself. The hairs are itchy and the stubbles are hard. Thereby, shaved legs look more toned, more tanned and just make me feel more sexy. Come on, freshly shaved legs feel so good when you rubb them against eachother, don’t they?

8 thoughts on “DISCUSSION: Hairy Legs, The New Sexy?

  1. I don’t shave because I just never did. Not because I’m a feminist, but because I don’t pay my hairs any attention.

    Sometimes when I’m really bored in the shower, I shave em and the hairs on my arm.

    I don’t mind people not shaving. I’ma probably stare if you could see the hairs.

    On another note, I think you could’ve written about the matter a little bit more objective. Or atleast a with respect for people who do it (so not comparing them to monkeys).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Chanel,

      Thanks for the comment. I get your point, but I think I made it clear that I write from my own perspectives. It’s a discussion, someone’s gotta take a stand, in this one it’s mine. I’m happy to read different opinions though.

      I think I’m in no way comparing you or anyone else to monkeys. The legs look a bit gorilla like, I feel. Doesn’t exactly mean they are! πŸ˜‰ I never shave my arms, nor my upper legs. I have blond hair over there. But if I grow my hair on my lower legs, I think I do have monkey style legs. You know everyone should decide for themselves. Don’t take it too seriously, I like to write with irony and self-mockery πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thought about it, and changed the word gorilla into hairy (revisited). Even though I believe the rest is fine, I get why you or the ones who feel called upon could be offended by the word. Respect is a great gift, here’s mine πŸ™‚ Cheers!

      Like

Hey hey! I would be happy to hear what you have to say. Just leave me a text, and I'll text you back!

