Sugarchallenge #Day 12

2ece6b9ec47211e386d424be05959cd0_8

Day #12 I’m almost two weeks on my way struggling through the sugarchallenge, and a lot of ups and downs have passed. There is one particular problem I wanted to discuss over here. Because I think I’m not the only that’s dealing with it. I’m talking about emotional eating. When I feel fine I can easily hold onto my sugarfree diet. But when something happens that sets me off my feet, I grab anything that contains sugar to get me through certain emotions. And I’m really annoyed by it. I know that eating muffins and chocolate coated easter eggs won’t help me from feeling better. It only makes it worse for that matter. Chocolate contains endorphins which increases your wellbeing. It instantly makes you feel better. I’m not doubting scientifically researched matters, but I don’t think you should use food to make you feel better. Such things need to come from within.

A lot of people abuse food when it comes to their feelings. It is food abusing behaviour, thinking crisps and chocolate will make you feel ok again. At the time being I enjoy eating ‘bad habits’, and after I finished I still do. That feeling won’t last long, I can assure you that. The questions about my so called self help meganism start popping up: do you feel better now? Nope. Did the problem go away? Nope. Did you want to eat that muffin? Nope. To be honest, I only feel worse after the binge attack. Does anyone else have the same habits or behaviour? Or maybe a good advice to keep me from neglecting the commitment I made towards this challenge?

DUTCH – Ik ben nu bijna twee weken bezig en er zijn al heel wat ups en downs geweest in mijn strijd. Er is eigenlijk een terugkerend probleem waar ik het over wil hebben. Vooral ook omdat ik denk dat ik niet de enige ben die er last van heeft. Ik heb het over emotie-eten. Als ik me goed voel, dan is er niks aan de hand. Dan kan ik mijn suikervrije dieet makkelijk volhouden. Maar  als er een tegenslag komt, dan is het ook meteen mis. Ik eet dan het liefste alleen maar slechte dingen, zoals muffins en chocolade eieren. Het stomme is echter dat ik echt wel weet dat dat me niet gaat helpen om me beter te laten voelen. Chocolade bevat wel endorfinen die ervoor zorgen dat je je beter gaat voelen. Ik twijfel zeker niet aan wwetenschappelijk onderzochte materie, maar ik weet wel dat het niks oplost. Je goed voelen moet vanbinnen komen.

Veel mensen misbruiken voedsel op die manier. Vooral als eten tot troostgedrag leidt. Op het moment zelf geniet ik heus van lekker slechte dingen die helemaal niet bij mijn dieet passen. En kort daarna ook nog wel. Tot het moment komt dat ik mezelf ga afvragen of ik er nou echt mee ben geholpen? Nou nee dus. Voel ik me beter? Nee. Is het probleem weg? Nee dus. Om eerlijk te zijn voel ik me daarna alleen nog maar slechter. Heeft een van jullie ook wel eens last van deze slechte gewoonte of troostgedrag? Iemand toevallig een goede tip om mezelf ervan te weerhouden om mijn toewijding aan deze challenge gewoonweg te negeren?

Voor meer sugarchallenge kijk onder het kopje ’30 Days Sugarchallenge’

 

Hey hey! I would be happy to hear what you have to say. Just leave me a text, and I'll text you back!

