Sugarchallenge #Day 5

Image

Source: 100layercakelet.com

#Day 5 Oh goodness, I already sinned on day 3. I started off very healthy with rice waffles, yoghurt an unsweetened muesli, banana and egg pancake, tea and water. But I didn’t know before I wrote the post that I would sin on a meeting with some lovely friends of mine. I began my evening with an ice tea (sorry, didn’t fancy drinking water), after that a tea with honey and fresh mint. Well, so far so good right? From now on my sugarless resolutions started crumbling down, beware! Three “bitterballen” (a savoury Dutch meat- based snack), one gin tonic and later on fries without sauce. I can hear the host of a tv show yelling, ‘And.. your back to the start, let’s start over!’

In the following days (this one included) I got my act together and started with yoghurt, rye bread, fresh fruit, oatmeal bagels, and so on. But temptations are always lurking in the back. For example the chocolate-coated easter eggs. Mmm aren’t they delicious? Or what to think from pastries when your hungry after a work-out and there’s no other food around?

Conclusion: I need to prepare little packages of food for when I think I’m getting hungry. For example after a work-out, during work time or when I’m travelling. Fresh fruit, a smoothie, unsweetened and non-roasted nuts, snackpacks with cucumber, carrots, sellery, tomatoes, paprika, etc. And lesson two needs to be: eat before you go out! The fries and meat snacks didn’t have to happen if I just ate some fruit, yoghurt or nuts before the meeting. Now I definitely know why this is called a sugarCHALLENGE.

Click here for my diary about my 30 Days Sugarchallenge.

DUTCH – Oh help, ik heb al gezondigd op dag 3 van mijn sugarchallenge. Ik begon zo goed met rijstwafels, yoghurt met ongezoete muesli, banaan- en eierenpannenkoek, thee en water. Maar ik wist, voordat ik de post van #dag 3 schreef, nog niet dat ik de fout in zou gaan ‘s avonds tijdens een afspraak met een paar lieve vrienden. Dit is hoe het begon: eerst een ijsthee (sorry, ik had gewoon geen zin in water) en daarna een verse muntthee met een beetje honing erin. Nou, dat is nog niet zo slecht toch? Daarna ging het snel bergafwaarts met mijn goede voornemens. Alarm! Drie bitterballen, een gin-tonic en later ook nog een bakje friet zonder saus van de Febo. Je kunt je voorstellen dat ik Robert ten Brink nu triomfantelijk hoor roepen, ‘en je bent terug bij af, laten we overnieuw beginnen!’

In de daaropvolgende dagen (deze ook meegeteld) heb ik mezelf weer wat herpakt en ben ik vol goede moed gestart met yoghurt, roggebrood, vers fruit, havermoutbagels, etc. Maar verleidingen liggen altijd op de loer. Bijvoorbeeld paaseitjes. Zijn die niet verrukkelijk? Of wat te denken van een heerlijke koek nadat je hebt gesport, trek hebt, en er niks anders voorhanden is?

Conclusie: Ik moet mezelf beter voorbereiden voor als ik trek krijg. Bijvoorbeeld na een training, tijdens pauzes op het werk of als ik aan het reizen ben. Vers fruit, een smoothie, ongezoete en ongebrande noten, snack pakketjes met komkommer, wortelen, selderij, tomaten, paprika, etc. Les twee: eet voordat je uit gaat! De frietjes en bitterballen waren nooit gebeurd als ik gewoon wat fruit, yoghurt of nootjes had gegeten voor die tijd. Nu snap ik dus ook beter waarom dit een sugarCHALLENGE heet.

Klik hier voor mijn dagboekje over mijn 30 Days Sugarchallenge.

2 thoughts on “Sugarchallenge #Day 5

Hey hey! I would be happy to hear what you have to say. Just leave me a text, and I'll text you back!

